Berlin #1

Berlin room

On friday I arrived to Berlin, with the outset to feel how it might be to actually live here, rather than being here for 48 hours (and being at Berghain for around 30 of those hours). After grasping most of the first impressions after being here for about 10 hours, I felt that it was very different from when I was here before. First of all, I know my way around a bit better than usual, having some idea which U-Bahn lines that go where.

On friday I was at my friends place, which was very nice since I haven’t seen them since January. I didn’t really feel to go out, the only attraction was really Mike Huckaby at Panoramabar. Unfortunately I fell asleep at home so I missed him!

The day after both Marcel Dettmann and Levon Vincent was on at Berghain, which was actually one of the main reasons I chose to go here at these dates. Marcel played a set that felt as he was back home, very aware and punching. After building for about 3 or 4 hours, straight out of nowhere he pulled out really crazy tracks which started off with Scuba’s ‘Hundreds & Thousands’, continuing onto ‘Temporary Suspension’ by PAS and then further down to the unidentifiable ones. The vibe of the crowd was very different than before. I talked to some friends and other people who live here, blaiming it on all the tourists – which is probably true …

Levon Vincent started off with some of his own material, which was exactly as good as his previous tracks. Pounding, raw and sounding very fresh, he held the vibe up for the three hours he played. One of the best sets I’ve heard actually.

5 Responses to “Berlin #1”


  1. 1 V.Vaughn June 16, 2009 at 21:14

    Mike Huckaby’s set was great, it had a Detroit-Tag all over it. He dropped some of my all-time favorites like “The Force” by Newworldaquarium.

  2. 2 756547 June 21, 2009 at 21:26

    yes…. Mike Huckaby was really good… nervous at fuck though when he arrived…was my impression.

    I really liked his UR record bag…

    PAWELs Live PA was really good too..

    And futurist…. if you need any help in berlin, let me know.

  3. 3 AY June 27, 2009 at 07:04

    as I’ve just been to Berlin for 10 days on holiday, I consciously chose not to go to Berghain. I’m not really sure why, to be honest– the PAM release party was on after all– but reading this post makes me feel the tiniest bit better about my decision.

  4. 4 AY June 27, 2009 at 07:04

    *PAS not PAM

  5. 5 Benjamin Anon July 15, 2009 at 14:39

    Would loved to have seen Levon Vincent…Absolutely loving, Games Dub. Hope all is well!


Leave a Reply

