Review: Len Faki – Berghain 03

Label: Ostgut Tonträger
Catalog#: ostgut CD08

01. John Beltran – Vienna
02. Edit-Select – Bauer
03. Roman Lindau – Raumgestaltung
04. Collabs feat. Speedy J & Chris Liebing – Magnit Express
05. Gez Varley pres. Tony Montana – The World Is Yours
06. Someone Else – Lowdown Brittle – Wink’s Profound Sound Interpretation
07. Pfirter – Mi Chica
08. Eric Johnston – Waiting For Weird
09. JP Montesino – Viaje Numero Uno
10. Planetary Assault Systems – Surface Noise
11. Len Faki – BX 3
12. Radio Slave – Neverending…..
13. Radio Slave w/ Dennis Ferrer – Neverending w/ Jero a cappella
14. Koljah & Oliver Deutschmann – Eaten Back To Life – Ed Davenport’s Stripped Mix
15. Tony Lionni – Found A Place
16. Basement Jaxx – Fly Life – Xtra Mix
17. Nick Holder & Kaje pres. Trackheadz – Feel – Instrumental Mix
18. Laurent Garnier – The Man With The Red Face
19. Ferrer & Sydenham Inc. – Timbuktu
20. Bloc Party – Where is Home? – Burial Remix

Being one of the most underrated mix series of today, Ostgut Ton flexes it’s well trained muscles from the dancefloor onto the compact disc. The undescribable momentums of the Berghain are showcased in this clever and unmistakeable way for everyone who want’s to get a taste of the music without visiting Berlin – and for us who enjoy the music on demand.

The previous installments from André Galluzzi and Marcel Dettmann differs a lot from Len Faki’s take. Leaving the purist techno and house for that special go-crazy-with-lots-of-fun-party-tactics-sound is a clever move. Ostgut Ton needs to remain somewhat magical – which means breaking away from repetative patterns (even good ones unfortunately). They also have a great DJ who in the right moment will lift you up from the ground just to throw you down again (Len Faki – Odyssee II at 10:00 on the Sunday morning at Berghain is the perfect reference).

The thing about this mix is that when you’re in the right mood, it’s one of the nicest things you’ve heard in ages. It brings you into a mood that really makes you want to dance. But, in regards to the previous Berghain-mixes, this one is a bit off when it comes to longetivity. It has a nice tracklist with exclusive tracks and zero fault on the transitions – but there’s just something missing.

As the attitude of the mix isn’t persistant, a feeling of timelessness gets lost which makes the mix a bit uninspiring. Giving it a listen at your house party or at the right moment – just as seeing Len Faki live in real life – it might just as well be a really great moment, but it also has the downside of bringing things into clarity and so the magical feeling is lost. Really tricky mix this one.

The CD is due very soon.

0 Responses to “Review: Len Faki – Berghain 03”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: